SAB Welcomes New Members

The Scientific Advisory Board requested applications earlier this year for new members to fill four open positions. Once again, we received a very large number of outstanding applications, confirming our members’ commitment to service and scientific excellence. The SAB is proud to welcome the following new members, who start their three-year terms this spring:

Maurizio Cereda, MD, is an intensive care physician and Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at the University of Pennsylvania, where he is director of the Surgical ICU and of the Anesthesia-Critical Care fellowship. He studied medicine at the University of Milan, where he also trained and worked as a faculty member. After a research fellowship at the NIH-NHLBI, he completed clinical training at UNC Chapel hill and at The University of Pennsylvania. His NIH funded research is directed at the pathophysiology and biology of ARDS, using imaging (CT, functional and metabolic MRI) to understand the progression of lung injury and to predict patient outcomes.

David Mintz, MD, PhD, is Associate Professor of Anesthesiology at Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Mintz works primarily on how anesthetics and sedative medications act at the molecular and cellular level to disrupt the development of the central nervous system. Following a PhD in neuroscience at Mount Sinai, he completed residency and a T32 fellowship at Columbia. He also has interests in neonatal hypoxic brain injury and in the impact of perioperative medicine on the microbiome. David founded a microscopy core at Hopkins, and he is the faculty director for the Anesthesiology research residency track at and the incoming director of the Hopkins Anesthesiology T32 fellowship, pending the current renewal.

Rene Przkora, MD, PhD, is Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology and Chief of Pain Medicine at the University of Florida in Gainesville. Dr. Przkora attended medical school in Germany and received training in anesthesiology at the University of Florida and training in pain medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital. His research focusses on functional outcomes of pain interventions, pain management outcomes, and stratification of pain therapies and is supported by local and national grant funding, including the NIH for the EPPIC-NET clinical trial network. He is active in simulation through the University of Florida’s Center for Safety, Simulation & Advanced Learning Technologies. Dr. Przkora is Director of the Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship at the University of Florida and a junior editor for the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA).

Deepak Sharma, MBBS, MD, DM, is the Virginia & Prentice Bloedel Professor & Division Chief of Neuroanesthesiology & Perioperative Neurosciences and Program Director of Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship at the University of Washington, Seattle, WA. He is currently the President of Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology & Critical Care (SNACC) and is renowned for his expertise in stroke anesthesia. A clinician, educator, researcher and a long-standing member of the AUA, Dr. Sharma is internationally renowned for his expertise in Transcranial Doppler (TCD) ultrasonography and is the Education Director of Cerebrovascular Laboratory at the University of Washington. His research interests include stroke and cerebrovascular disease, TCD ultrasonography to study cerebrovascular reactivity and education in anesthesiology.

A very warm welcome to our new SAB members, and a heartfelt thank you to the many highly accomplished AUA members who submitted their CVs, but were not selected this year. I truly appreciate their commitment and contributions, and encourage everyone to please reapply next year.

We thank Drs. Lucy Chen, Paul Garcia, Jae-Woo Lee, and Richard Levy, who are completing their terms on the SAB, for their years of outstanding service.


Ines Koerner, MD, PhD
Chair, Scientific Advisory Board
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, Oregon