EAB Welcomes New Members

The EAB welcomed four new members from the AUA membership: Drs. Arna Banerjee, Teresa A Mulaikal, Kenneth Shelton and David Wlody.

Arna Banerjee, MD, MMHC, FCCM currently serves as Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, Surgery, and Medical Education and Administration at Vanderbilt University Medical Center (VUMC) and the Assistant Dean for Simulation in Medical Education. Dr. Banerjee direct Vanderbilt’s Center for Experiential Learning and Assessment (CELA) and is a member of several professional organizations where she has frequently held leadership roles. Dr. Banerjee studied medicine at VUMC and, during her tenure as faculty there, has served as a key educator, within the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine.

Teresa A. Mulaikal, MD, FASE is Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at Columbia University Irving Medical Center and Attending Physician, Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology and Care Medicine at New York Presbyterian Hospital where she serves as the Anesthesiology Residency Program Director. Dr. Mulaikal studied medicine at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago, has been a recipient of the Kathryn Cozine Teacher of the Year award and serves on several local and national committees, including Columbia University’s Education Committee, as well as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine's Action Collaborative on Preventing Sexual Harassment.

Kenneth Shelton, MD is the medical co-director of the Corrigan Minehan Heart Center ICU at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) as well as Assistant Professor, Anesthesia at Harvard Medical School. He studied medicine at University of California San Francisco School of Medicine, was a recipient of MGH’s Service of Excellence Award as well as numerous Best Teacher recognitions. Dr. Shelton has served on many committees such as MGH’s Clinical Competency Committee, Program Evaluation Committee, Data Safety and Monitoring Board (ICU Sleep Study), and is a member of numerous professional societies.

David J. Wlody, MD, FASA is Chair, Department of Anesthesiology at SUNY Downstate College of Medicine and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology at Brookdale University Hospital Medical Center. Dr. Wlody is a member of several professional associations and has held numerous volunteer leadership roles, including Scientific Program Chair of the Society of Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology Annual Meeting; Scientific Program Chair and General Chair of the NYSSA Post Graduate Assembly; and Chair of the ASA Annual Meeting Oversight.

Arna Banerjee, MD, MMHC, FCCM
Term Expires 2023
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, Tennessee

Teresa A Mulaikal, MD, FASE
Term Expires 2023
Columbia University
New York, New York

Kenneth Shelton, MD
Term Expires 2023
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

David Wlody, MD
Term Expires 2023
SUNY Downstate College of Medicine
Brooklyn, New York


Keith Baker, MD, PhD
Chair, Educational Advisory Board
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts