EAB Report

I hope you are all looking forward to the Annual Meeting in Denver, our first in-person meeting since 2019! We are excited about the planned program which includes two sessions hosted by the EAB. On Thursday morning, Drs. John Mitchell and Heather Ballard will be discussing innovative uses of deliberate practice for skill acquisition. Drs. Richard Blum and Dan Saddawi-Konefka will present a thought-provoking session on reflective practice Friday morning.  Please also stop by the Lunch Award Session on Thursday, where we will be presenting this year’s EAB Education Innovation Award.

The Annual Meeting will also bring a change in our board membership. We would like to take this opportunity to thank our board members whose term concludes this spring: Dr. Jeff Berger, Dr. Amanda Burden, Dr. Dawn Dillman, and Dr. Dan Saddawi-Konefka.  We are also welcoming four new members, Dr. Debnath Chatterjee (University of Colorado), Dr. Keith Littlewood (University of Virginia), Dr. Norah Naughton (University of Michigan), and Dr. Shobana Rajan (University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston).

One of the AUA’s goals is to enhance mentoring within our organization. The LAB has been working hard to develop a mentorship program to pair mentees and mentors with shared interests. The EAB is in the process of developing a web-based series to provide education on how to be a strong mentor and how to foster a successful mentor/mentee relationship. We appreciate all the topic and speaker suggestions that you provided through our survey last fall.

On behalf of the AUA and the EAB, I want to express my gratitude for your continued contributions to our team.  I am proud of the work we have done so far, and eager to plot a course together for the future.

Thank you!


Susie Martinelli, MD
Chair, Educational Advisory Board
The University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, North Carolina