Leadership Advisory Board

Maya Hastie, MD, EdD

Chair, Leadership Advisory Board – Term Expires 2023

Columbia University
New York, NY

Valerie Armstead, MD, FAAP, DABA

Term Expires 2023

Temple Health University
Philadelphia, PA

Maria Bustillo, MD

Term Expires 2023

Weill Cornell Medicine
New York, NY

Dr. Maria Bustillo holds appointments as Associate Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology in Clinical Neurological Surgery, Chief of the Division of Neuroanesthesiology, and Director of the Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship Program at Weill Cornell Medical College/New York-Presbyterian Hospital. During her career as an academic anesthesiologist and educator, she has long championed the importance of diversity and inclusion for continued advancement of the field of medicine. Under her direction, she has built a diverse and inclusive neuroanesthesiology division at Weill Cornell Medical College, a division that is well respected not only for their knowledge and expertise, but also because of their creativity and innovation. She is honored to be a part of the AUA Leadership Advisory Board; her long-standing commitment to fostering diversity and inclusion is rooted strongly in her belief that diversity will continue to fuel innovation and improve performance of all members of our specialty.

Meghan Lane-Fall, MD, MSHP, FCCM

Term Expires 2023

Univeristy of  Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

Lisa Leffert, MD

Term Expires 2023

Massachusetts General H
Boston, MA

I am an Associate Professor of Harvard Medical School and Chief of the Obstetric Anesthesia Division within the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital. I also serve as the Immediate Past President of the Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP). Faculty development has been a life-long passion and it is an honor to work with LAB in a diverse and inclusive environment that empowers our next generation of academic anesthesiology leaders.

Burkhard Mackensen, MD, PhD, FASE

Term Expires 2023

University of Washington
Seatttle, WA

Mohammed Minhaj, MD, MBA, FASA, FACHE

Term Expires 2023

Univeristy of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Dr. Minhaj is excited to serve on LAB as an extension of the efforts he has made in this area. Dr. Minhaj is currently a Professor in the Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care at the University of Chicago and President of the Medical Staff Organization at the University of Chicago Medical Center. He has guided the professional development of residents and fellows as a former Program Director, junior and mid-level faculty in his various roles in his departments, and is a founder/Co-Director of the Senior Leadership Academy in the Biological Sciences Division at the University of Chicago which was initiated to help develop leadership skills in mid-and senior level faculty in clinical and basic science departments. He has also served in different roles in the ASA and the Chicago Healthcare Executives Forum that promote professional development and enhancing diversity/inclusion efforts.

Harish Ramakrishna, MD, FACC, FESC, FASE

Term Expires 2025

Mayo Clinic Rochester
Rochester, Minnesota

Vidya Raman, MD, MBA, FASA, FAAP

Term Expires 2025

Wexner Center/The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

Maunak Rana, MD

Term Expires 2025

University of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

Tetsuro Sakai, MD, PhD, MHA, FASA

Term Expires 2023

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA

Katie Schenning, MD, MPH, MCR

Term Expires 2025

Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, Oregon

Kristopher Schroeder, MD, FASA

Term Expires 2025

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Madison, Wisconsin

Shahla Siddiqui, MD, MSc, FCCM

Term Expires 2025

Beth Israel Deaconess
Boston, Massachusetts

Tracey Straker, MD, MS, MPH, CBA, FASA

Term Expires 2023

Montefiore Medical Center
Bronx, NY

Tracey Straker MD MS MPH CBA FASA is a Professor of Anesthesiology and Director of General Anesthesiology at Montefiore Medical Center in Bronx , New York. I am excited and honored to be appointed to this position because diversity , racial equity and inclusion in academic medicine are necessary for meritocracy and the dismantlement of healthcare disparity.

Joseph Szokol, MD, JD, MBA

Term Expires 2025

Keck Medicine of the University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California

Rob Whittington, MD

Term Expires 2023

San Francisco, CA

Dr. Robert A. Whittington is currently Professor of Anesthesiology and Vice Chair for Faculty Development in the Department of Anesthesiology at Columbia University Irving Medical Center (CUIMC). He is also Assistant Dean for Academic Development, Faculty Diversity, and Inclusion in the Office of Academic Affairs of Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons. Dr. Whittington is actively involved in the development of academic career advancement initiatives, including mentorship and leadership programs geared specifically towards diverse faculty.

Jeanine Wiener-Kronish, MD

Term Expires 2023

Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA