New Initiative for Associate Members

We are writing to introduce an exciting new initiative for Associate Members to the Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA). The AUA Council has unanimously agreed that University Anesthesiology faculty who have been approved for funding for the FAER or IARS Mentored Research Training Grant, the APSF/ FAER Mentored Research Training Grant, the AHA Career Development Award, Veterans Administration Career Development Award and the NIH K01, K08, K12, K23, K25, or K43, or K99 mentored award shall be automatically approved as Associate Members of AUA without dues for the duration of their mentored funding period.

Eligible candidates will be identified during our standing biannual nomination period. A letter of nomination will be requested from any AUA full member in good standing. Associate Members via this process will be recognized at the AUA national meeting, in the AUA Newsletter, on social media and on the AUA website. Associate Members shall continue to enjoy all the privileges of Active membership except those of voting and holding office. This dues waiver will expire upon receiving independent, non-mentored extramural funding or at the end of their mentored funding period.