Education Advisory Board and Leadership Advisory Board Awards

The Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA) is delighted to launch four new awards managed by the Education Advisory Board and the Leadership Advisory Board. Any member of the AUA can submit the name of individuals for consideration for these awards. Members are also encouraged to self-nominate. Applications were open from September 26, 2022 to December 31, 2022 at 11:59 pm PT and are now closed.

General guidelines include:

  • Current members of the AUA council shall not be eligible for selection.
  • Eligible nominees are members of the AUA and are in good standing.
  • Initial nominations are reviewed by the corresponding advisory board. Recommendations are then submitted to the AUA council and AUA president. Final selection is made by the AUA council.
  • Documents needed:
    • Application (unified application for all nominees): demographics, professional information, contributions that merit the award, narrative justification of why the candidate should be considered for the award.
    • Nomination Letter or Letter of Support.
    • Nominee’s CV.
    • The mentoring award would also require letters of support from mentees.

Education Advisory Board (EAB) Awards Include:

Education Research Award
The EAB Education Research Award is to acknowledge outstanding achievement and success in education research by an anesthesiologist. Its purpose is to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for original education research at its best. Nominations are invited from AUA members and should include the PubMed IDs of the relevant educational research that has been published in the previous three years. The letter of nomination should also describe how the research contribution has advanced the field of medical education.

Education Innovation Award
The EAB Education Innovation Award celebrates and recognizes new and innovative developments in medical education. Impacts may include a policy or programmatic change, a revelation of a pedagogic tool or methodology, increased awareness of an issue, implications for research by other contributors, or a change in thinking among anesthesiology education professionals. Nominations are invited from AUA members and should describe the nominee’s contributions and how the innovation contributes to medical education.

Leadership Advisory (LAB) Awards Include:

Mentoring Award
Awarded to an AUA member in recognition of their commitment to mentorship and sponsorship of faculty members in anesthesiology. Letter of nomination should describe the details of extent of mentoring and sponsoring activities, and their outcomes for the mentees, such as scholarship, grant funding, promotions, leadership positions. Letters of support from past or current mentees are needed. Evidence of longitudinal mentoring practice is encouraged. In addition, presence of a mentoring chain linking nominee with their mentees, who in turn are mentors should be highlighted when possible.

IDEAL Award – Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Acceptance, and Leadership Award
Awarded to an AUA member in recognition of their commitment and leadership to promote diversity, equity, inclusivity, and belonging at the local or national level. A positive impact on healthcare outcomes is the ultimate goal. In addition, tangible impact on diversity and equity metrics of the healthcare workforce such as promotions, recruitment, retention, professional development is sought. Evidence of community service and its impact should be provided when available. Other supporting evidence such as publications, speaking engagements, and committee work are encouraged and will be taken into consideration.

Past Recipients


2022 Education Innovation Award
Jed T. Wolpaw, MD, MEd
Residency Program Director
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

2022 Education Research Award

John D. Mitchell, MD
Vice Chair for Education, Director Center for Education Research, Technology and Innovation (CERTAIN)
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center


2022 IDEAL Award (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Acceptance, and Leadership Award)
Tracey Straker, MD, MS, MPH, CBA, FASA
Professor of Anesthesiology
Vice Chair for Clinical Operations
Officer for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusivity
Montefiore Medical Center

Note: LAB’s Mentoring Award was not bestowed in 2022